Fatherhood

I knew it would happen.
We drove separate cars
on to the college campus:

The radio broadcast played
“childs song to both of us.
We arrived together and parked
she in laughter, I in tears.

Soon after I heard her
give her dorm address
As her home address,
It’s hard to let go.

Everyone says it,
her success is also mine
So why doesn’t sharing
feel less like heartbreak?

Some things take time
like turning my heart
from fatherhood to
give birth to poetry.

A good first step but
one that requires strength
like climbing steep stairs
or opening a frightened heart.

Still, I noticed that
at the end of my effort
I had recovered joy and
Both children were with me.

20131205-073842.jpg

Leave a Reply

