Heyoka Smile

20140502-212612.jpg
It shook me when I understood,
they wanted to hurt me,
I set out, determined
to find my flaws and correct them.

It confused me when I understood
they didn’t know how to love me.
I set out to find a place
in which love was not unknown.

It frightened me when I understood
the emptiness surrounding me
was the reflection of my fear,
and pain the touch of broken shards
of a heart that would not weep.

One day I climbed a mountain top
to ask Your help to find my way,
you sent me two tornadoes down
to dance around me on that peak.

Despite my fear I would not run
I had no home in emptiness
I’ll choose to die before I flee
instead they blew away my fear
and my surrender set me free.

Now like the winds face
etched on the surface of a pond
I am only a reflection,
Your fear in rude flesh
a clown, invisible, an old man,
frighteningly clear,
Perhaps crazy, and yet;

If you look closely at my eyes
you will notice,
that deep within them
behind your reflection,
I am smiling, in love.

Picture from sudden-death blogspot.com

7 thoughts on “Heyoka Smile

    1. Thank you so much. So many people have been generous and pushed like But have said nothing in terms of comments. It’s nice to hear from someone and seeing the words makes it more special.

      Hey visited your site several times I keep getting the feeling that there are collections of things that I have no way to access for example the old card, I have collected some old advertising cards and postcards like them very much. Is there a place on your site that shows more of your collection and if so how do I get to the rest?

      Alexander

      Like

    2. I have to add more, when I started it as a whim I wanted to see how people responded to them. I shall have to get some images in good light and add them in. Thanks for inquiring as no one else had so I was leaving it on the back burner. I will see if I can add more this weekend.

      Like

  1. This was a very interesting poem to read. Mainly because most of it was very dark right from the start but you managed to end it in very uplifting way. Didn’t expect that, and I liked it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

