RED ALERT- The end of the free web

This is my first non POETRY related post on my POETRY blog.

Today I heard about the Facebook experiment and became extremely alarmed. The Internet was overwhelmed with comments, the top 500 search results on Google return comments by those who said people who are upset are idiots, paranoid, overreacting, and at fault for not having read the user agreement thoroughly enough.
I admit I find it incredibly offensive to hear that Google changed comments to sound more critical or more positive as an experiment without any consideration about how it made the poster or reader feel. Because this means they can control the general message of my communication I immediately deleted my Facebook account. Okay so so far I’m outraged but I’m not frightened. I went searching for Porum to express my displeasure. Again Google has stacked the deck. Most places offering a discussion or objectors I hosted by Facebook! I went to the The HuffingtonPost to write an article about how upset Facebook users are. There was an existing article so I thought maybe I would leave a comment but the article provides a Facebook link as the only method for responding to the article. I deleted Google search engine. All efforts to find a free and open forum of discussion have failed.
I am hearing from people who have been cut off of Facebook for being critical. I have had my search engine crash upon trying to click on sites that accept critical input. In summary the Internet tonight is not free for an open discussion. The word is that Facebook and Google have formed a merger, and the apparent difficulty of communication combined with the inability to know whether the words I type are the words anyone else will receive have provided me with the conviction that we are now all under control. I’m not even sure that I will be allowed to continue to post on WordPress. There is one thing I do know and that is that most people will give in to the fact that without Google and Facebook they will be financially disadvantaged and take up the view that those with a perspective like mine are overreacting. I’ve spent my life opposing the encroaching fascism of corporate rule. Tonight the only way to express my fear and shout a warning about what is happening right now is through WordPress. Even the BBC news shutdown, forums. The big to have flooded the web with Mockery, criticism, and misinformation. I am unclear yet what my final action will be and yet aware that the Internet is no longer a viable channel of communication. I find this more frightening than anything else that is happened in my lifetime when the likes of Mark Zuckerberg begin running the world, the world to start running. I beseech you take this seriously contact your friends shutdown Facebook so that it’s out of your life delete Google browsers and wait to see if freedom can be reestablished. Someone somewhere who has the money to help make a difference will devise a channel of communication eventually.
keep the faith,
My love and best wishes to you all
Alexander

6 thoughts on “RED ALERT- The end of the free web

  1. Hi Alex,

    I totally understand your sentiments. I think the person most hurt by such activities would be Tim Berners-Lee, who kept HTTP open just so we can democratize our communication. Instead, everything is being monitored and people’s minds are being manipulated. How is it any different from the various human experiments done decades ago?

    I don’t mind if anyone gathers my data in order to enable to make this world a better place (and there are organisations who do that). But the internet is increasingly shifting towards a consumerist mindset in which humans are likely to be subject to such experiments and practices. The only solution to this would be to have more stringent cyber laws.

    Like

    1. It is interesting to get responses to my posting. It seems to me that most people firstly do not really give consideration to how they would feel if a message from somebody important to them and their life was just altered to make it more apparently contentious or a message sent back to someone they were trying to befriend made more antagonistic.
      Still in the face of what’s currently occurring these are second-order considerations. The fact that Facebook’s research affiliated with two universities was government-funded combined with the fact that responses to the release of information describing the experimentation have been deleted minimalized selectively published and altered themselves, leads me to the inevitable conclusion that there is no free communication on the Internet. A review of history would dictate that most people will avoid being disadvantaged by having opposition to people like Google who have so much control over Internet content and traffic. I’m afraid that much of this is a root reflection on the fact that entity is like MoveOn.org have been so successful in influencing political activity. If so the combination of censorship and fearful abstinence from comment will undoubtedly lead to an era of greater social and economic repression. Speaking as one was never told the line without being thoughtful about what why they were towing I have real fears about where this will lead us. Facebook tonight released a statement saying they only did the research so they could make Facebook an emotionally secure place for us to be. Personally I suspected had more to do with the fact of generating controversy increases traffic in the fact that they will do what it takes to make money without considering how it affects us as individuals.
      Alex

      Liked by 1 person

    2. PS: Re: the difference between this and human experiments done decades ago; never has a major portal of human communication been unavailable to anyone who refused to allow themselves to be subjects for experimentation. This is clearly duress, inappropriate, and should be illegal.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. I agree let’s hope that during and after the coming elections the administration will be even more empowered to Maintain support for personal freedom.

      Like

    1. It is interesting to get responses to my posting. It seems to me that most people firstly do not really give consideration to how they would feel if a message from somebody important to them and their life was just altered to make it more apparently contentious or a message sent back to someone they were trying to befriend made more antagonistic.
      Still in the face of what’s currently occurring these are second-order considerations. The fact that Facebook’s research affiliated with two universities was government-funded, Look up the Miranda project, combined with the fact that responses to the release of information describing the experimentation have been deleted minimalized selectively published and altered themselves, leads me to the inevitable conclusion that there is no free communication on the Internet. A review of history would dictate that most people will avoid being disadvantaged by having opposition to people like Google who have so much control over Internet content and traffic. I’m afraid that much of this is a root reflection on the fact that entity is like MoveOn.org have been so successful in influencing political activity. If so the combination of censorship and fearful abstinence from comment will undoubtedly lead to an era of greater social and economic repression. Speaking as one was never told the line without being thoughtful about what why they were towing I have real fears about where this will lead us. Facebook tonight released a statement saying they only did the research so they could make Facebook an emotionally secure place for us to be. Personally I suspected had more to do with the fact of generating controversy increases traffic in the fact that they will do what it takes to make money without considering how it affects us as individuals.

      I appreciate your support it’s encouraging,
      thank you,
      Alex

      Like

Leave a Reply

